The Three stages Of Hair Growth

Anagen Phase:

Also known as the active hair growth phase.

  • During this time the root of the hair is dividing rapidly, adding to the hair shaft.
  • Marked by  hair growth at about 1 cm every 28 days.
  • Scalp hair stays in this active phase of growth for 2–7 years;this period is genetically determined.
  • At the end of the anagen phase an unknown signal causes the follicle to go into the catagen phase.
  • Catagen Phase


The catagen phase is a short transition stage that occurs at the end of the anagen phase.

  • It signals the end of the active growth of a hair. 
  • lasts for about 2–3 weeks while the hair converts to a club hair. A club hair is formed during the catagen phase when the part of the hair follicle in contact with the lower portion of the hair becomes attached to the hair shaft. This process cuts the hair off from its blood supply and from the cells that produce new hair.
  • When a club hair is completely formed, about a 2-week process, the hair follicle enters the telogen phase.

Telogen Phase 

The telogen phase is the resting phase of the hair follicle. When the body is subjected to extreme stress, as much as 70 percent of hair can prematurely enter a phase of rest, called the telogen phase.

  • The hair begins to fall, causing a noticeable loss of hair. This condition is called telogen effluvium. The club hair is the final product of a hair follicle in the telogen stage, and is a dead, fully keratinized hair.Fifty to one-hundred club hair are shed daily from a normal scalp.